In Memory of Don Bain

We, at The Spartanburg County Foundation, were saddened to learn of the death of William Donald “Don” Bain, Trustee Emeritus of The Spartanburg County Foundation. Don was committed to improving the lives of Spartanburg County residents and made a significant impact throughout the community.

A celebration of Mr. Bain’s life will be held at First Presbyterian Church Spartanburg Monday, March 19, 2018, at 4:00 p.m.

The Spartanburg County Foundation Commits $75,000 to The Franklin School

In recognition of 75 years of impact, The Spartanburg County Foundation presented a $75,000 grant to the Northside Development Group Wednesday, March 7, 2018, at The Franklin School, 100 Franklin Street, Spartanburg.  The Franklin School is being built as part of the Northside Initiative and will serve approximately 200 children ages 6 weeks to 5 years.  The grant from The Spartanburg County Foundation is being presented to fund the school garden and outdoor classroom.

“The 75 years currently being celebrated by the Foundation is full of exceptional commitments to the education of our citizens,” said Bill Barnet, CEO and Board Chair of Northside Development Group. “This visionary gift is yet another example of such focused support.  The Northside welcomes this investment in our cornerstone project, The Franklin School, and the important people it supports— our youngest learners.”

The Northside Initiative has been described as the most ambitious redevelopment in Spartanburg’s history.  The Franklin School, a unique community partnership, will provide the opportunity to demonstrate how high quality early learning experiences can strengthen brain development and provide children with a solid foundation for future success.  The school, set to open at the end of 2018, will be a full-day, full-year learning facility with state-of-the-art indoor and outdoor learning environments.

“We are pleased to present a grant of $75,000 to promote the wellbeing of children who will attend The Franklin School and the greater Northside community,” states Troy Hanna, President and CEO of The Spartanburg County Foundation.  “As we reflect on the past 75 years, we see the tremendous progress that has been made throughout Spartanburg County.  This grant is an investment in our future that will benefit the next generation of Spartanburg residents.”

The Spartanburg County Foundation Recognizes 75 Years of Impact in Spartanburg County

For 75 years, The Spartanburg County Foundation has been committed to improving the lives of Spartanburg County residents by promoting philanthropy, encouraging community engagement, and responding to community needs.

We invite you to join us throughout the year as we share impact stories, present new and unique grantmaking opportunities, and offer exciting outreach programs in recognition of this milestone.

Visit our special 75th Anniversary website for more details on the total impact of the Foundation and its donors.

Thank you for your generosity, support, and partnership!


District Six at Cragmoor Farms Receives the Tommy Wyche Land Conservation Champion Award

The Farm to School efforts continue to be recognized across the state. On February 27, 2018, Spartanburg School District Six at Cragmoor Farms received the Tommy Wyche Land Conservation Award at the ForeverGreen Luncheon hosted by Upstate Forever.

District Six is grateful for the opportunity to provide their students with organically grown fruits and vegetables and for the partnerships that help make this project possible.  View the VIDEO for more information.

Foundation Engages Community Volunteers To Improve Lives In Spartanburg County

Standing Committee Members (L to R):  Ms. Dennis Chapman Hughes,  Mr. Horace Littlejohn, Mr. Todd Stephens, Judge Erika McJimpsey

The Spartanburg County Foundation is pleased to announce the appointment of several community volunteers to both standing and advisory committees. The Foundation has benefited greatly from the assistance of volunteers throughout its 75 years, and for the first time in its history, has appointed four community volunteers to standing committees.

“Engaging community volunteers in our work is essential to fulfilling our mission of promoting philanthropy, encouraging community engagement, and responding to community needs. As the oldest community foundation in South Carolina, The Spartanburg County Foundation continually seeks innovative ways to involve diverse members throughout the community,” said Troy Hanna, President and CEO of The Spartanburg County Foundation. “Including professional community leaders in our work has proven to greatly enhance our processes, maximize resources, and offer a fresh perspective on how we can improve lives in Spartanburg County. We trust the addition of community leaders on two of our standing committees will also prove beneficial as we look toward the Foundation’s next 75 years.”

The Foundation welcomes Dennis Chapman Hughes and Horace Littlejohn as community volunteers serving on the Philanthropic Services Committee. This committee is a standing, Trustee-led group that provides strategic direction on the Foundation’s marketing and communications, community outreach, and asset development. The Foundation also welcomes Judge Erika McJimpsey and Todd Stephens as community volunteers serving on the Community Leadership Committee. Judge McJimpsey and Mr. Stephens will work with Trustees to provide strategic direction for the Foundation’s comprehensive grantmaking program and community leadership work.

For more than a decade, the Foundation has worked with local financial professionals through the Investment Advisory Committee (IAC) to oversee investment strategies, assess financial managers, and make policy recommendations to the Board of Trustees. Members of the IAC commit to a three year term of service. Members of the IAC include Jay Alexander (Class of 2020), Tom Arthur, Bert Barre (Chairman), Zim Cannon, Dr. Omar Daniels (Class of 2020), Jamie Fulmer, Julian Hankinson, Robin Leslie (Class of 2020), and Charles Shartle.

IAC (L to R): Mr. Jamie Fulmer, Mr. Zim Cannon, Mr. Jay Alexander, Mr. Tom Arthur, Mr. Bert Barre (Chairman), Mr. Charles Shartle, Mr. Julian Hankinson, Ms. Robin Leslie, Dr. Omar Daniels


The Spartanburg County Foundation is dedicated to improving the lives of Spartanburg County residents by promoting philanthropy, encouraging community engagement and responding to community needs. Established in 1943, The Spartanburg County Foundation is the oldest community foundation in South Carolina. Additional information about the Foundation is available at

Spartanburg Interfaith Alliance – A Pilgrimage of Peoples

A Pilgrimage of People is an interfaith pilgrimage to Washington, D.C. to
visit the Holocaust Museum, the National Museum of African American
History and Culture, and the National Museum of the Native American.
This shared experience is designed to foster greater understanding between
faiths and create a greater sense of community.

Pilgrimage Cost – $600.00 (Limited scholarships available)
$100.00 Deposit Due with Application, Balance Due by March 15th.
Seating is limited!
Complete your Spartanburg Interfaith Alliance Pilgrimage Application and submit your deposit TODAY to reserve your spot!

Please return form along with $100 deposit to:
First Presbyterian Church
Attention: Shannon Stewart
393 E. Main Street
Spartanburg, SC 29302

For more information, call or e-mail: